أخبار

دراسة: كبار السن أقل استعدادًا لتحمل المخاطر بسبب تغيرات الدماغ

دراسة: كبار السن أقل استعدادًا لتحمل المخاطر بسبب تغيرات الدماغ



We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

يؤدي انهيار الدوبامين إلى انخفاض في تحمل المخاطر بين كبار السن
عادةً ما يكون كبار السن أكثر حذرًا وقليلاً مقارنةً بالشباب. هل هذا بسبب حكمة وتجربة العمر؟ لقد وجد الباحثون الآن أن مستوى المادة الكيميائية في الدماغ يتناقص مع تقدم العمر. وهذا يجعل سلوكنا أقل اندفاعًا ونأخذ مخاطر أقل لتحقيق أهدافنا.

توصل علماء من جامعة يونيفيرسيتي كوليدج لندن ، في تحقيق ، إلى أن انخفاض مستويات الدوبامين لدى كبار السن يؤدي إلى خطر أقل على المصابين. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يقل احتمال أن يظهر كبار السن سلوكًا مندفعًا. نشر الأطباء نتائج دراستهم في مجلة "علم الأحياء الحالي".

تفحص الدراسة أكثر من 25000 شخص
فحصت الدراسة الجديدة أكثر من 25000 شخص تتراوح أعمارهم بين 18 و 69. أوضح المؤلفون أنه تبين أن كبار السن يتحملون مخاطر أقل للفوز في تطبيق الهاتف الذكي. ومع ذلك ، لم يختلف الأشخاص الأكبر سنا في سلوكهم في اللعب عن المشاركين الأصغر سنا عندما يتعلق الأمر بفقدان نقاط أقل بسبب التحركات الخطرة. كان من المقبول على نطاق واسع منذ فترة طويلة أن يتحمل كبار السن مخاطر أقل. أظهر الباحثون أن الدراسة الجديدة تظهر الآن بالضبط ما الذي يتجنبه الأشخاص الأكبر سنا.

يؤثر ما يسمى بهرمون السعادة على سلوكنا عندما يتعلق الأمر بالأرباح
يؤدي انخفاض مستويات الدوبامين لدى كبار السن إلى انخفاض مطرد في القرارات الخطرة. وأوضح الأطباء أن مستوى الدوبامين ينخفض ​​بنحو عشرة بالمائة كل عشر سنوات بعد البلوغ. ويضيف الخبراء أن المتطوعين كسبوا المزيد من المال وكانوا مستعدين للعب بشكل أكثر خطورة عندما يعطون دواء يزيد بشكل كبير من مستويات الدوبامين. يُعرف الدوبامين بشعبية باسم هرمون السعادة. على سبيل المثال ، تكافئنا المواد على المكاسب بسبب السلوك الخطر في اللعبة.

كبار السن أقل انجذابًا إلى المكافآت الكبيرة
نظرًا لأن مستويات الدوبامين لدينا تنخفض مع تقدم العمر ، فمن غير المرجح أن نختبر نفس مشاعر السعادة المجزية. هذا هو السبب في أننا نقوم بتعديل سلوكنا وتجنب التحركات الخطرة ، كما يوضح د. روب روتلدج من كلية لندن الجامعية. وتابع الباحثون أن الآثار التي لاحظناها في التجربة قد تكون بسبب انخفاض الدوبامين. يضيف الخبراء أن هذا الافتراض مدعوم أيضًا بالطريقة التي تؤثر بها أدوية الدوبامين على عملية اتخاذ القرار لدينا. لم يعد كبار السن يخاطرون بعد الآن ، لكنهم لم يرتكبوا أخطاء أكثر من الشباب في الاختبار. يبدو أن كبار السن أقل انجذابًا إلى المكافآت الكبيرة. هذا هو السبب في أن هذه الموضوعات تأخذ مخاطر أقل في محاولة للحصول على مكافآت أكبر ، كما يوضح د. روتليدج.

يختبر الباحثون المخاطرة باستخدام تطبيق قمار
تم تنفيذ ثلاث تجارب مختلفة في التجربة. بدأ الموضوع بأحد تطبيقات المقامرة برصيد 500 نقطة. كان الهدف من الأشخاص المختبرين في المحاولة الأولى (اختبار الربح) هو الفوز بأكبر عدد ممكن من النقاط. لهذا ، كان عليهم المشاركة في 30 حالة اختبار مختلفة ، مما جعلهم دائمًا يختارون بين خيار الفوز الآمن وفرصة محفوفة بالمخاطر بنسبة 50/50 ، كما يشرح العلماء. يمكن للاعبين إما اختيار عدد مضمون من النقاط أو استخدام فرصة 50/50 للحصول على مكاسب أعلى. ويضيف الخبراء بالطبع أنهم يواجهون خطر عدم الفوز بأي شيء.

نتائج الاختبار لتطبيق القمار
في المحاولة الثانية (اختبار الخسارة) ، درست الدراسة كيف كانت المخاطرة عندما يمكن للاعبين أن يخسروا عددًا معينًا من النقاط بأمان أو يفقدون نقاطًا أكثر أو لا نقاط من خلال المقامرة ، كما أوضح الباحثون. في الاختبار المختلط الأخير ، يمكن للاعبين اختيار عدم الحصول على نقاط ، أو المخاطرة وكسب أو خسارة النقاط. وأوضح الأطباء أنه في المتوسط ​​، اختار حوالي 56 بالمائة من دراسة الخسارة و 67 بالمائة من الدراسة المختلطة متغير القمار لجميع الفئات العمرية. في دراسة الربح ، لا يزال حوالي 72 بالمائة من المشاركين الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 18 و 24 عامًا يستخدمون لعبة الحظ. وانخفضت القيمة إلى 64 في المائة لدى كبار السن بين 60 و 69 سنة. يشرح المؤلفون أن فقدان الدوبامين يمكن أن يفسر لماذا ينجذب كبار السن إلى الوعد بتحقيق مكاسب محتملة.

انخفاض مستويات الدوبامين يجعل كبار السن أقل تقبلاً للنهج الإيجابية
ويقول الخبراء إن القرارات المتعلقة بالخسائر المحتملة لم تتأثر لأن العمليات المهمة المختلفة تؤثر على الخسائر التي لا تتعلق بالشيخوخة لدينا. يضيف العلماء أن الآثار السلبية تميل إلى المساعدة في إقناع كبار السن ، في حين أن النهج المتفائل والمكافآت المحتملة الضخمة تجذب الشباب. توضح نتائجنا الجديدة تفسيرا علميا عصبيا محتملا بأن الانخفاض الطبيعي في مستويات الدوبامين يجعل كبار السن أقل عرضة للنهج الإيجابية مقارنة بصنع القرار في سن أصغر ، كما يوضح د. روتليدج. (مثل)

معلومات المؤلف والمصدر


فيديو: المواجهة. وزيرة الصحة: كبار السن الأكثر عرضة لمضاعفات فيروس كورونا (أغسطس 2022).

News

Study: Older people less willing to take risks due to brain changes

Study: Older people less willing to take risks due to brain changes


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

The breakdown of dopamine leads to a decrease in the risk tolerance among older people
Older people are usually a bit more careful and conservative compared to young people. Is that due to the wisdom and experience of age? Researchers have now found that the level of a chemical in the brain decreases with age. This makes our behavior less impulsive and we take fewer dangers to achieve our goals.

Scientists from University College London have now found in an investigation that the decline in dopamine levels in older people means that those affected take fewer risks. In addition, older people are less likely to show impulsive behavior. The doctors published the results of their study in the journal "Current Biology".

Study examines more than 25,000 people
The new study examined more than 25,000 people between the ages of 18 and 69. It turned out that older people take fewer risks to win in a smartphone app, the authors explain. However, the older subjects did not differ in their playing behavior from younger participants when it came to losing fewer points due to risky moves. It has long been widely accepted that older people take fewer risks. The new study now shows exactly what risks the older subjects avoid, the researchers report.

So-called happiness hormone affects our behavior when it comes to profits
Declining dopamine levels in the elderly lead to a steady decline in risky decisions. The dopamine level drops by about ten percent every decade after adulthood, the doctors explain. Volunteers won more money and were willing to play much more riskily when given a drug that significantly increases dopamine levels, the experts add. Dopamine is popularly known as the happiness hormone. The material rewards us, for example, for winnings due to risky behavior in the game.

Older people are less attracted to big rewards
Because our dopamine levels decrease with age, we are unlikely to experience the same rewarding feelings of happiness. That's why we adjust our behavior and avoid risky moves, explains Dr. Robb Rutledge from University College London. The effects that we observed in the experiment could be due to a decrease in dopamine, the researchers continued. The assumption is also supported by the way dopamine drugs affect our decision making, the experts add. Older people weren't as risk-taking anymore, but they didn't make more mistakes than the young people in the test. Older people just seem less attracted to big rewards. That's why these subjects take fewer risks trying to get the bigger rewards, explains Dr. Rutledge.

Researchers are testing risk taking with a gambling app
Three different experiments were carried out in the experiment. The subjects started with one of the gambling apps with 500 points. The aim of the test persons in the first attempt (profit test) was to win as many points as possible. For this, they had to take part in 30 different test situations, which always made them choose between a safe winning option and a risky 50/50 chance, the scientists explain. The players could either choose a guaranteed number of points or use the 50/50 chance to get higher winnings. Of course, they also had the risk of not winning anything, the experts add.

Test results of the gambling app
In the second attempt (loss test), the study examined how risk-taking was when players could safely lose a certain number of points or lose either more or no points through gambling, the researchers explain. In the last mixed test, players could choose not to get points or take a risk and win or lose points. On average, around 56 percent of the loss study and 67 percent of the mixed study chose the gambling variant for all age groups, the doctors explain. In the profit study, around 72 percent of the 18 to 24 year old participants still use the game of chance. The value fell to 64 percent in older people between 60 and 69 years. The loss of dopamine could explain why older people are less attracted to the promise of potential gains, the authors explain.

Decreasing dopamine levels make older people less receptive to positive approaches
Decisions about potential losses were not affected because various important processes affect the losses that are not related to our aging, the experts say. Negative effects tend to help convince older people, while an optimistic approach and huge potential rewards appeal to younger people, the scientists add. Our new findings offer a possible neuroscientific explanation that the natural decrease in dopamine levels makes older people less susceptible to positive approaches compared to decision-making at a younger age, explains Dr. Rutledge. (as)

Author and source information


Video: Update, UK, US and Global (May 2022).